You are here

Mr. Doug Horswill, Teck Resources, elected Chair of the Mining Association of Canada

The Mining Association of Canada (MAC) is pleased to announce the election of Doug Horswill, as Chair of the Association. Mr. Horswill is Senior Vice President, Sustainability and External Affairs of Teck Resources Limited.  He replaces Jim Gowans, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of De Beers Canada Inc., who has completed his two-year term.

Mr. Horswill has been an active member of the MAC Board and a key member of the MAC Towards Sustainable Mining (TSM) Governance Team.  Under his chairmanship, the Governance Team expanded the scope of the TSM initiative by developing new protocols on Biodiversity Conservation Management and Safety & Health, reflecting the evolving priorities of our communities of interest. TSM is a stewardship initiative that aims to sustain the industry’s role as a leading economic player by increasing public trust in its ability to manage the environmental and social issues important to Canadians by encompassing environmental management and stakeholder inclusion practices that will help the industry earn its social license to operate.  Mr. Horswill also serves as a MAC representative on the TSM Community of Interest Panel.

Doug Horswill joined Cominco Ltd. as Vice President, Environment and Corporate Affairs in September 1992. Doug was appointed Senior Vice President Environment and Corporate Affairs for Teck Cominco Ltd. in January 2002 followed by Senior Vice President, Sustainability and External Affairs for Teck Resources Limited in August 2008.

Prior positions include Deputy Minister of Finance and Corporate Relations and Deputy Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources in the Government of British Columbia. Before entering government he was employed at Utah International (BHP) and at INCO. Doug served for 10 years until 2008 as Chairman of the Environment and Sustainability Committee of the International Zinc Association.

Doug earned a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Mineral Engineering, and a Master of Arts degree in Economics at the University of BC.

Other elections to the MAC Board include: 

  • Ian Pearce, Chief Executive Officer, Xstrata Nickel Canada, as First Vice-Chair
  • Tim Gitzel, President, Cameco Corporation, as Second Vice-Chair

Gordon Peeling is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Association and Secretary to the Board.

Based in Ottawa, MAC is the national organization for the Canadian mining industry. Its members are engaged in mineral exploration, mining, smelting, refining and semi-fabrication.